Jeremy Renner on SNL and desperate need for female film critics

I tell ya… if the time comes when I lose complete use of a bunch of fingers or an entire hand, I’m done for
apparently I can’t NOT type… stay away from the PC when I have ready access to one…
my middle finger is compensating quite well for my left index… not quite ready to use it yet

last year left so much confusion in the “sexiest man alive” debate… everyone said it was Ryan Gosling when Bradley Cooper was the surprise winner… everyone was like WTF, what did he do all year? Ryan Gosling did 3 movies… all hit it pretty big in the box office, great roles…
Bradley Cooper… he did “Limitless” (which I hear was good but havent seen yet) and a Hangover movie… which doesnt warrant it

this year he had a better year… a couple good movies… I’m sure “Silver Linings Playbook” will be huge (potential indie pic for Oscar nominee) and “The Words”… I’d have given him an Oscar if Daniel Day-Lewis hadnt so easily procured it for playing our 16th president…

Channing Tatum was the obvious choice cuz he did like… FIVE freaking movies this year where he’s either a hunk or leading man…
21 Jump Street, not so much
The Vow, absolutely, won me over on premise alone (have yet to see it)
and Magic Mike… where involvement alone probably selled the deal for him…

(I dont remember what the others are but he was in the box office A LOT this year)…

I havent seen Magic Mike yet and I’m sure I’ll get into it like all the target demograhic did… but right now thats not enough for me to hand him the title…

what’re the requirements?
being in a bunch of big movies for starters (I feel like Ryan Reynolds got it the same reason Obama won the Nobel Prize… the future seemed bright with Green Lantern… sequel or not, it was a disaster compared to Marvel studios)…
… and I dont know what else…

being a lead might have something to do with it…

this year has been about the Avengers so I wanted one of them to get it… unfortunately none of them had enough box-office buzz to secure it…
everyone knows Robert is my go-to guy… especially when it comes to winning awards… and by that, I of course mean that I say how he HAS to win them… as if that certifies his greatness in stone for people to truly appreciate :shrug: being Tony Stark this year isn’t enough for even him to get it
Chris Hemsworth was Thor and the Huntsman… and I didnt think he was amazing enough as the latter to get it…
Chris Evans did next to nothing… same with Mark Ruffalo (although I am crazy for him too)

which left me Jeremy Renner… not only Hawkeye, but Aaron Cross in “Bourne Legacy” and was part of last December’s Mission Impossible…
he might not have had all the numbers and leading roles to back it up… but he was the “candidate” (dont know if he was even considered) I was backing in this thing…

PEOPLE was too predictable this year… I have come around in recent months when it has come to Channing Tatum… I’m just pissed that a) the winner this year wasnt someone I could cozy up to and b) predictability is sooooo boring…

he’s not my cup of tea… by any means…he’s a sweet guy and all that, but physically, I’m not so much into muscles, bulk and all that

eh… I think last night kinda sealed the deal in adding “Bourne Legacy” to my Christmas list
movie has its flaws, yeah, but I’d like to check into it when I’m really feeling the leading man (my mind was elsewhere for the first 10-20 minutes, so that kinda took away from it)…

I was kinda annoyed… thats common lately, but at least its not PMS annoyed… thats where I wanna bite people’s heads off that SNL spent time with the Petreaus scandal…
this guy was the MacArthur of this generation and he got taken down by something so STUPID like this… the females involved were in it for the money and I’m betting its a conspiracy meant to take him down… he’s an amazing guy and I refuse to let any of this crap get to me… post 9/11 America heralds their patriots/veterans for a REASON, goddamit

but I have to say how much I loved Jeremy’s monologue (hmm… I think its time for the first name basis to begin, lol)…
at first it was strange seeing him kinda as a fish out of water… not sure what he’d do…
his thing became musical… insisted he wrote songs for his movies that didnt make the cut…
The Avengers one had some lame lyrics but the piano sounded GOOD… and the dude’s got a great voice… gotta love it…

he did one for “Bourne Legacy” that morphed from a Kings of Leon song… instead of “Use Somebody”… he says “I’m gonna shoot somebody”… when he stopped he was like “I was told that was a Kings of Leon song, dont know who they are…” hell yeah! fucking hate that song… and the lead singer can’t sing… I cringe listening to it on the radio…

then he asked the band to play the music for “The final countdown” and he exclaimed “mission impossible!”…
he ought play a rock star or something… loved him in this new territory πŸ˜‰
better yet… he and Robert should get together and go bowling AND talk about doing a record together afterwards, tee-hee…

they did an Avengers spoof… a given… and Hawkeye was out of arrows (something never really taken to these lengths in the movie to fully address this) and it became a series of gags in response to it how he seems useless without them, they had a plan in mind but without an arrow he couldnt do it… he was in a makeshift battle costume from the SNL loot, but he still looked good…

I just watched online another sketch where he’s at a morgue with Bill  Hader and Jason Sudekis and he has to ID a body… thats presumed 2b his brother’s… he kept saying it was all these other outrageous guys it couldnt be… like Yao Ming, Lucy Liu, Steven Tyler…
he got philosophical, asking if it was like the sixth sense where he’s alive and they’re all dead…
then he made my day and said Morris Day and The Time :falloff: or maybe Morris Day and a couple guys from The Time… he must be a fan πŸ˜‰

I won’t spoil the ending but its hilarious… gotta love it…
I gotta watch the other Maroon 5 performance I missed during Bleach… I turned it off at 12:45 when they went into “Daylight”…
really do not like that song much at all

I think from now on I gotta have a man in mind for “sexiest man alive” so I can celebrate them when they don’t win… and I’m sure I’ll lose a lot but thats ok

I was thinking back to my thing about relating differently…
Jeremy Renner I can see as the type of guy I could cozy up with… kinda what I was describing with Adam Levine… nice strong arms 😎 hmm…

not sure how it happened that I got turned onto him, I didnt really think he was particularly good looking, but somehow he won me over… he’s a great guy, certainly knows how to make gray and a leather jacket look good
to me, he really seems to have a soft side beyond the rough exterior, but he’d be the kind of guy I’d feel would be a good protector… like in a home invasion or something a little more extreme… he might not be quite as bad-ass as the characters he plays, but I’m sure the intense training he goes thru for his roles would come in handy

…and I kinda lost my desire to go beyond this…

I was gonna rip into another reviewer in our paper for trouncing Breaking Dawn…
Ebert managed to give it 2.5 stars despite how much he doesnt believe in fantasy franchises geared towards younger individuals (particularly female)… but this guy ripped it apart… even though its clearly the best in the franchise…

and c’mon, I can see how people arent so into Kristen Stewart as an actress cuz of her lack of facial expression variation… but here she’s confident, truly into this role and man, Bella never looked more awesome on screen, I tell ya…
I’ll go into length about all this in the future, but it really doesnt seem fair to me that none of the major reviewers of these movies ARE the target demographic… there arent any major female film critics… I won’t take things nearly as seriously as my male counterparts πŸ˜‰ but at least I attempt to respect the material I’m reviewing… unless of course the main components of the film (acting, directing, writing) dont add up to me wanting to rewatch it…

our pop blogger dude had a headline about not getting Twilight’s success…
all I can really say about it is… dude, you’ve never been in our shoes, so you really don’t have a snowball’s chance in understanding it…

I won’t go completely Twi-hard on my movie blog, but there’ll be a handful of entries about film adaptations of books and this series will have their say πŸ˜‰ you can bet on that

heck, I never read anything by Tolkin and I love the Lord of the Rings movies… without even the background info, I got thru it just fine… but I guess it helps to have the same director for all the movies…

Harry Potter went thru… Chris Columbus twice, Alfonso Curaon once, Mike Newell once and David Yates the remaining 4 times… with the changing subject matter of the books it made sense :shrug: not gonna lie… although I did love Chris Columbus and miss him after he left

The Hunger Games series will have their 2nd director in Catching Fire and hopefully he’ll stick around for Mockingjay part 1 and 2…

one of my grievences with Twilight (there are at least 10 overall… but dozens and dozens of positives to counteract that) was the changing directors…
I loved the indie look Catherine Hardwicke put to the first one… after that, the lack of consistency did bother me quite a bit…
I hate how the reviewer said Bill Condon shot the film as if he thought he was above the subject matter… saw him interviewed a number of times and that couldnt be further from the truth…

people really should do their research before judging people πŸ™„

this last time thru the movies… I had less negativity to spew at the screen with Twilight… thankfully… I have gotten pretty OCD-ish with the details they screwed around with and I got to accept most of them by this time around (some, I’ll never condone)
New Moon came off better than I remember… not much else to really go on from there cuz Jacob kinda lost me after, you know, Taylor Lautner throw out that wig… had to kinda relate to him the same way after that (I find it hilarious now but a while ago, I was thinking how guilty I felt that there was an attraction there, but I kept saying how he was still a minor and it wasnt cool… Scotty McCreery… same thing, lol)…

Eclipse lost me a little bit… I didnt feel the same emotion… the love storyline didnt really come thru for me in a lot of it… there was a little too much back and forth and I think New Moon kinda rectified that for me… how I was into Jacob until he turned and after that, not so much…
Breaking Dawn I felt more connected to this time around… kinda saw, in my own way, that Bella cared for Renesmee and all that

I wanted to skewer the reviewer for skewering the name in his review… saying how stupid it was and all that…
I was dying to say something like… “fucking read the book before you judge, dumb-ass”…
I was really that livid about it…

to which I just say… stop ripping apart anything you dont know the hell about…
do your research before denouncing something… he really didnt know what the hell he was talking about… He gave nothing to the movie as far as anything positive…

man, I never realized just how far I’d take my positive shtick but its become huge…
my life doesnt back up my support of this stuff, but I really am an optimist when it comes to viewing things like this…
I wish more people were into that… at least acknowledge one thing positive before ripping something apart πŸ™„

that’s all I ask…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

