Stirring/warming my heart- embracing the little things

Whoever said “always enjoy the little things”… they were totally onto something…


This is gonna be a short entry… and it’ll come down to two things…

okay, three…
four
got through all the Christmas shopping today and it’s gonna be a good year, although it took a while to figure out what to get

oh, another thing… two Prince references in one night… pretty awesome…

the final Jeopardy question was “American Icons” (yeah, I wish he was the answer)
the answer/question was which person won the medal of honor, pulitzer and is part of the Minnesota rock hall of fame… 2/3 said Prince… even though he’d never done any communal international work… a little too self-involved to even be considered for those prizes…

I figured it was Bob Dylan because I know he’d done some international work, talking about peace and all that through his music… and I knew he was original from Minnesota… so glad that those people at least knew he came from Minnesota 😉

then during “New Girl,” I guess it was Winston’s turn to bond with Jess… he asked her to help him pick something on the jukebox. He suggested Raspberry Beret… and before she could finish “okay, but if we’re gonna go Prince” they went onto the real topic…
hey Zooey, what song would you have picked? if the scene went a step further

and I know how much I’d been saying lately how Kat Dennings in “2 Broke Girls” how much that character Max ROCKS and I wish that I knew someone like her so free with being all opinonated and stuff…
we’ve hit an impasse cuz she said Maroon 5 sucks… she told their newly hired intern to see the concert she’d had tickets for for months… but then dissed the band :facepalm: 
Stephen Colbert, we don’t have to necessarily agree on everything but he also said something Maroon 5 doing the same thing over and over again… 

is there anything wrong with that if the fans love it every time? absolutely not…

that was a major buzzkill for me with Max and it might take me a while to get over it…

okay…
first of the two things…
I’d had enough with my 2nd guesses and I think I’d had my fill of Morris Day until next November 😉 
listening to the records is still fine, but that’ll be a while…

I started watching the Rave Un2 the year 2000 concert… not bad so far, will have my full review in a while yet… I kinda forgot over the days I’d had it waiting to be played that The Time was gonna gate-crash… and damn, he had to be all theatrical about his “swing on” entrance 😎
but I tell ya, I felt this little pitter-patter in my chest… 

However small it may be, he’s left fingerprints somewhere on my heart… and those chill bumps were me remembering seeing him live in concert and all that… that’s an experience I’ll have with me forever, no matter how few people remember him… 
everyone who has made me feel a little better, warmer inside… they’re gonna have their place and that was just a nice reminder…

about “The Voice”… all I can say is “Team Blake 4 the win!” I didn’t expect the results to be that cut throat, although I did see one of them coming… wasn’t quite as enthused with her as I’d been in previous weeks

of the 4 left, I absolutely love those three… but each one is equally deserving of the win…

It was a great night last night of performances… everyone did equally well, although I do understand why the two that were voted

anyway… Cassadee, once again, she blew me away… cannot say enough how crazy I am about this girl she’s my type of singer, doing all of my favorite artists… 
last night, her second song was my favorite Avril Lavigne song (apparently hers and Adam Levine’s as well)

I’ve mentioned maybe once or twice that ” I’m With You” is one of my “Downey soundtrack” songs and whenever she releases a greatest hits, that mix is gonna happen… 
now I wish I kept a better account of all this… I heard it in a dream a couple weeks/months after I saw “Less than Zero”… and in some way, I’d come to associate him with the song… then as time went on, I began to kinda see what it represents when it comes to how I feel about him. I’d tried to turn it into a song fic, but my past few attempts weren’t fully realized…
last night, even though I didnt write an actual story with a plot, dialogue and whatnot, I think I’ve come the closest I ever had to capturing what it means to me and how I make the relationship to him… and I’ll end this entry with just that: 

Has there been a time in your life when you feel like you have no one on your side? You’re lost in your head, out of step with your life, not knowing if anyone can help. That’s what it felt like when he came into my life.

            A couple of months after he introducedhimself to me (all of his flaws included), I dreamt about a song I haven’theard in years. A few days later, I heard it on the radio and everything waswhere it was meant to be.

            I quickly discovered that he was thesomething I needed to prop myself back up. The time I spent with him was enoughto make me feel whole. It was something new and very special.

 

            Cassadee looked at this song from amore negative point of view than I ever did. Her thought process was that itwas about a lover she wanted by her side that couldn’t be and just that desirefor that closeness. I saw the exact opposite whenever I thought about it. Itbecame the beginning of the beautiful friendship that developed between me andhim. I didn’t know who would save me from myself, but that person turned out tobe him. How strange it is that I’d known of him for a couple years and onlyrecently had I established that connection.

            The past year or so, I felt morealone and isolated than I’d ever been. I felt like I couldn’t talk to anyonewithout it escalating to a fight or the kind of negativity that made me avoidconversation. I wasn’t aware of the loneliness then, but now, it seemed to getmore real by the day. Not knowing what my life in life is will trouble me aslong as that question goes unanswered. When I do find one, I want it to bepermanent… because I clearly don’t cope with change very well.

            Maybe all this time, I had beenwaiting at the door, standing on this bridge on a cold night for that specialsomeone. The new person in my life that would come at precisely the right timeto give me the strength to carry on. That’s what I felt like I really needed.As I waited, I started to wonder if someone was looking for me, anyone waslooking to help me through this unsolvable problem I had. Whoever came, I wouldask them to be what I needed them to be.

            It was a cold, foggy night on thatbridge I spent the past couple evenings thinking, sifting through all thenegativity in my head.  Then I felt likeI was swept off my feet. I didn’t know who had come into the picture, the airwas too obscure for me to see his face. It all ran like a beautiful VienneseWaltz, skirting across a large wooden floor, feeling weightless without a carin the world.

            Confusion threatened to close medown again, but as he’d done before, he took me away from it and we continuedto waltz through the night. His arms felt so warm. His embrace felt infinite,like he had no intention of letting me fall into the nothingness I often felt. Ireally didn’t care to know who he was because it didn’t matter to me as long ashow I felt around him never changed.

At last, I could make out his face, and I knew him.Somehow, it was like I’d known this whole time. He was the most recent personto come into my life and it was his turn to leave his fingerprints on my soul.Only now, it felt like I was really seeing him for the first time. He drew meto him like gravity. Everything about him felt right and I couldn’t questionit, there was no need. When you feel like this, you just don’t. That sameembrace returned and all the comfort that came with it. This time, I knew forsure that he’d never let go. And a part of him would always be a part of me, nomatter what form it took, I could safely say “I’m with you.” “

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

