Iron-Man 2 Revisited… [nearly] 2 years later

Right now my mind’s just so boggled that it’s hard to know where to start with this.

Uh… clearly Robert isn’t all that great with sequels… or, more to the point, his sequels are never as good as the originals…
Fingers crossed that the Avengers sequel won’t be a letdown because, really, you start at the top, there’s nowhere else to go but down…

I’ve said that Tony Stark has yet to disappoint me in a theater venture… the key word is “theater”… it kinda sucks how you think a movie is awesome the first time you see it, then after you listen to criticisms and how everyone else said how much it compartively sucked… 
I explained this with the Star Wars prequels in that I had to be told that they sucked before I even noticed.

I’m thinking it was half between it being on the big screen and the other half being… c’mon, starstruck, I’ll see stuff and completely gloss over other stuff…

Dare I say it… two things…

“Iron-Man 2” I describe now as “cringe-worthy”… most of the cringing surrounded Sam Rockwell’s character… this Justin Hammer dude… I wanted SO bad for this guy to be collateral damage, just wanted to beat the crap out of him… at first it was just him calling Tony by his full name…
BLECK… “Anthony” leaves such a bad taste in my mouth right now I don’t think I’d be able to say it again… first it was that and then it was like… he was kinda channeling Tom Cruise in “Tropic Thunder” with his attitude, but without the frequent f-bombs and the authority to back up said attitude…
what a weasel… 

And yeah, removing the rose-colored glasses and all that… I don’t think I’ll be able to rock to a certain song ever again cuz it’ll be tarnished with convulated images of him in the suit, drunk at his own party… 
You would think that the makeshift rockettes in his screen debut was bad… nah, it got a lot worse… and I got to wondering how he and War Machine were duking it out in his Malibu beach house… like how was he even on his feet for this, kicking ass and all that… then I remembered… a) it’s acting and b) the suit action is all CGI anyway

They went for a lot of obvious laughs and gags that really weren’t necessary… not that Tony Stark was ever perfect, but his downward spiral was painful from a multitude of angles… mainly because there was nothing graceful about it… simply put, he was acting like an idiot… 
not a complete idiot, as I was tempted to put down, but yeah, he was an idiot… thankfully he learned his lesson after a LONG while and he and Robert aren’t the same guy… or at least not at the same time… the argument could be made that he was that reckless a few years back…
hmm… it’d be kinda cool if during one of these talk show appearances he’ll do either this year or next year… I’d like to the leave the stuff in the past, but being free to say “10 years of sobriety”…

that’s huge and each time I reflect (pretty often, though this is my first time this year doing so), I’m grateful that I’m on this ride and he’s still on this clean/healthy one… and that it’ll keep going for years to come

strangely enough, the 2nd part of the “dare I say” statement…
Iron-Man 3 being darker and more serious… I could REALLY go for that right now, if it means that we don’t go for the easy way out for entertainment because I’m sure we’d all seen downward spirals look like this before… without all the hi-tech and stuff, but yeah…

maybe 10 minutes after the movie ended, I remembered how I said I liked the character development in this movie… thought it was the best feature of it… It was hard for me to find a foot hold… some of that is due to the fact I’d kinda tried to limit how much screentime of his I have… but it was dizzying for the first half hour…

I blame a great deal of it on FX, actually… because they did WAY too many commercials… it was interrupting the whole flow of the movie and ahhh… there were moments where I was looking at the clock waiting for it to get good or to end and that’s NEVER a good sign… especially for this guy

I loved the interaction with Nick Fury and it was really cool to know how much a role Scarlett Johannson had in the movie… I honestly had no recollection whatsoever of how much she was in it with the exception of 2 scenes (thanks to the trailers)
The epiphany scene was really cool where he was watching his dad’s newsreels and Howard Stark had tacked on a message for him at the very end… probably the only heartfelt thing he said to him in his entire life… damn, he didn’t seem anything like he was protrayed in Captain America… he didn’t have the cool suave vibe about him, he was blunt and serious… until that part in the end

When the scenes didn’t get too convulated, slowed down and such, I could lay back and say that Robert looked amazing in this movie… maybe a little more in Avengers… for multiple reasons, again… 
firstly he’s in his prime NOW… or at least he was around the time he flimed that movie
secondly, Tony Stark wasn’t dying through the duration of “Avengers”…

It took me a while to remember how this was going on… at the end of the first movie, you know, Jeff Bridges took his arc reactor to power his own Ironman suit… he got electrocuted and killed in the confrontation… in the process, Tony Stark probably lost both of the arc reactors… so he had to come up with a new one fueled by Palladium, apparently poisonous and killing him… one scene before the party was not pretty for that reason… 

I might not like how dark and seemingly hopeless the third installment might look :shrug: but anything’s better than what I watched tonight

ultimately when I do get all three movies in that blu-ray boxset, I’m thinking that I’ll bring out Iron-Man 2 to watch a couple of my favorite scenes and that’ll be it… I won’t be subjecting myself to the entire movie very often

man, sequels are a tricky business… 
then again, so far, I think he’d only done these two sequels
Sherlock 2 didn’t work out the first time around and I’ve had a 50/50 success rate so far… depending on my mood, I guess… I still think the 3rd act got convulated, though… 
Iron-Man 2 relied on all the wrong things in an attempt to make it work… 

I think I at least have my top 5 movies of his that at some point I’ll discuss on my movie blog… unfortunately I thought I could count on 2 Iron-Man movies being there… not the case… Avengers will probably get a last minute inclusion
most likely, I’ll be taking things back down a few notches… and I could probably be satisfied with taking him completely off the table until May

I figured I’d get all this down for my personal records, but man… I hate it when that happens, finding out long after the fact that something isn’t quite as good as I thought it was
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

