Reviewing January 2013: A Summation

It always seems like whenever I do a new entry that it feels like forever since my last one. I’m sure I only did a couple so far this year… mainly because my focus has been doing an entry a week on my movie blog.

Which I’ll mostly likely upgrade to two for next week… two older films, one I’d seen once and another I’d just recently saw a second time (and as a result, I’ll have a more interesting discussion cuz I have a few extra opinions to mention)…

Of course there’s a huge difference… I’m used to doing several entries a week, mainly cuz I have a lot to say… granted, I’ll have plenty to vent about, but I’d done less of that…
mainly because I’d have some reading material to preoccupy me… and also some music, but it’ll also give me a little more to discuss

Colton’s album just dropped this week and even though I’ll probably have to wait a while until I get to Wal-Mart to pick up a copy, I’m uber excited… more than I can even express…
surprisingly, according to him, he was one of 3 people who got record deals from that very talented season… and one of them is NOT Joshua Ledet… I’m sure nobody’s more surprised than Jennifer Lopez who freaking championed him all season
I don’t know who the third person is… and obviously u have Phillip Phillips… Mr. #hessodull himself

when Colton’s album gets into my possession, that’ll most likely to be the last thing I have to do with American Idol… I’ve kept up with not watching a single audition from this season… supposing his career does take off, I will of course keep getting the albums as they come along… but I’ll wait until I have it, that way I can review it and rotate it like there’s no tomorrow…

(can’t exactly say “the hell out of it” because that’d be disrespectable, as it’s a Christian rock record)

until that time, I’m keeping busy with some other albums, some I haven’t listened to at all, and others I’m still weighing in on…

but before I get ahead of myself there, just a glimpse of what happened in my Janurary so far… not necessarily in order…

  • Jennifer Lawrence has taken onto another plateau of awesomeness, getting Golden Globes and SAG awards for “Silver Linings Playbook” and she wasn’t too shabby on SNL either
  • Adam Levine hosted SNL and had some cute sketches and such… I liked the short song he did that was kinda about being so paranoid about America today that you’re better off not leaving ur house… but my favorite, which I caught on HULU the next day was when he was playing himself… and that Moynihan guy was dressed in drag, trying to seduce him and all that… and strangely enough, despite what I was thinking earlier that his body art was a turn-off when he appeared topless at his monologue, I was turned back on… more like switched on…
  • BLECK!! all this talk of Beyonce has me going freaking insane… I don’t know what pisses me off more… all this extra screentime, having to suffer thru listening to her clips of the National Anthem over and OVER again, or the fact that lip-synching has ruined careers and hers can just keep on going… I’m kinda over Ashlee Simpson getting booed off SNL for a complete mess-up on the part of the audio team and she got thrown into the background after that, I haven’t really listened to her stuff in a while anyway… but still… I find Beyonce beyond overrated… sure, the voice is good, but her music is god awful… annoys me to no end… It’s comparable to having to listen to “Sexy Back” 24 hours straight, perhaps even worse than that notion (Justin Timberlake should really stick to acting, he acts better than his so-called music sounds)… I got into a heated argument with my dad yesterday over all this, I was saying how I can’t stand her in response to them calling her voice “angelic” on the news… after saying it was great, he countered my pessism and said I don’t know music if I say her voice is that bad… I get so messed up in the head when I’m pissed off that I have trouble putting a sentence together, all I could think about was my dinner fork… I’d written almost nothing in the past couple years but reviews of music and working thru The Word and all that… nobody can tell me I can’t know music… I know helluva lot more than a lot of people my age and I take pride in that… but I couldn’t let that conversation start cuz it’d get ugly, especially with me feeling ready to cry over my dinner plate… let’s just to go the Super Bowl, past the HalfTime and may I never have to listen to Beyonce ever again… unless one of her songs appears on Glee, in which case, it’s all right because the vocals don’t make me wanna scream and run the other direction… it’d be kinda hard to explain that it’s something of a personal thing, being subjected to having to listen to a three track album play over and over again thru the walls of my on-campus apartment… 2/3 being Beyonce songs… it was fucking torture and I didn’t even like her stuff before that
  • It’s been an ugly post-season in football, or at least the first week was… when 3/4 of my teams lost… the biggest heartbreak was RGIII getting injured again and the Redskins freaking blew their shot… it was so painful that I couldn’t not cry about it… I saved up all those waterworks from Les Mis and it all came out about that game… 
    • on the plus side, I have two teams in the Super Bowl that I don’t have any direct affiliates with… therefore I can be totally impartial… right now I’m liking the Ravens because of how they made Tom Brady look so average, f’ing destroyed him… and of course, gotta love the two brothers competing in the SuperBowl… hell yeah!
    • and also the best Pro Bowl I’d seen in my life… usually I check out halfway thru cuz I’m bored out of my mind… I got to see more of Eli and Victor Cruz and that made me hapy 😎 the turnover ratio was RIDICULOUS, lol… and we has so few flags I could count them with one hand (4)… never had that happen before
  • I’d only seen maybe 5 movies so far this year… Les Mis, the original Pink Panther, All that Jazz, Tombstone, and a late entry, The Adventures of Don Juan starring Errol Flynn
    • Les Mis was excellent, the only negative is, other than I didn’t know when it was gonna end, Anne Hathaway got so little screentime… I know her character’s fate but like someone’s comment (and I forget who, probably a random comment on IMDB), “didn’t u think Fantine’s fall from grace was too fast?”… 
    • Pink Panther got better as it went along, Closeau was SO funny and I felt so bad that his wife totally sold him up the river… I didnt know until after (thanks to Robert Osbourne’s ending monologue) that the movie was originally highlighting the thieves and Closeau stole the show
    • All that Jazz… started out great with the cool choreography, but it just got strange after a while, endless dream sequences and such
    • Tombstone… ran a little long, the cast was great, but the ending was anti-climatic… isn’t it the Western requirement for it to end with a face-off… the face-off happened and there was 10 minutes left… it just fell flat for me… but I also remembered that Nostalgia Critic had made fun of one scene… where Kurt Russell loses it, starts say “no!” a number of times, shooting a bunch of people up and the final “no” was freaking hilarious… so overally dramatic for no apparent reason
    • Don Juan… all I knew was that it was in the climatic 3rd act of Phantom of the Opera… but the movie looked nothing like that… dealing with the devil and all that… we were counting the costume changes for Errol Flynn (around maybe 8-9)… it was fun and it was kinda cool to look back on a great legend… I thought Don Juan was just a womanizer but he turned into so much more
  • I watched Sherlock 2 and Iron-Man 2 and find myself wanting to say “Robert, stop doing sequels, they never pan out”… but I’m under good authority (his specifically, saying it was the best script he read in 5 years) that Iron-Man 3 will be a home run… although I am kinda worried about what I might find at the Super Bowl teaser trailer, supposedly his home will be invaded and destroyed (representing some $40 million of actual damage)… I read an interview today about him saying how great Shane Black was as a director and story-teller and how Iron-Man 2 kinda suffered cuz they were resting on their laurels and were a little TOO spontaneous with all kinds of changes… he even acknowledges his onset injury resulted in a great break where they got to reevaluate some things in the film, how its not often u get a break in the middle like that… but other than that, he doesn’t say how he “busted up his ankle”… dammit, somebody’s gotta ask him that in May, right? I’m curious
  • I discovered a little thing called “Happy Days”… I was in the mood for a little something different, wanting to get away from a lot of what the industry is putting out these days and just throwing it back to nostalgia… it’s common knowledge that Fonzi is the man, but knowing that and actually having the evidence to prove are completely different things… I won’t let the whole thing get overinflated… as I tend to do with new interests… heck, Ron Howard was kinda cute back in the day too… never would have figured he’d go on to direct watching that
  • We’ve seen a couple of snow storms… nothing super epic, though… I think we’d gotten as much as a foot or two… but not much more than that… a mix between snow and ice in some cases… 
  • I’d been a little out of touch lately because I’d been stressing about something else… I had a trip to the dentist and they found another cavity… luckily the worst part was the waiting to get it over and done with… but dammit, I never had cavities back at our old dentist… I never miss a day brushing, why the hell does this keep happening to me? luckily these days u can get fillings that blend in to ur teeth rather than just going with the silver… as long as I can manage, I want the color of my teeth to stay uniform 
  • and in the news, Israel shot a missile at Syria, Syria’s considering retiliation… Manti Te’o’s scammer came out of the shadows, Lance Armstrong confessed to Oprah that he’s a liar and rumor has it, A-Rod’s entire career could unravel if he’s found guilty of doping… the gun control issue is still a hot button that most likely, very little will be done about for a while… meantime every time there’s a mention of a gun or shooting, interventions are called and lock-downs as well… and there’d been a few coming from kids… c’mon people!! Hilary Clinton took on the Republicans who were dogging her about Benghazi… although what she said is a little disrespectful to the victims, I thought it was kinda cool how she held her own out there… considering how much I disliked her years ago, I’m surprised at this change of heart myself, she’ll be missed… they just lifted the ban on women in combat… I think the equality is great, but Kelly Ripa (despite how she’s annoyed me lately) has a good point in that if women are taken as POW’s, the torture possibilites are unthinkable
  • I’d bought a couple books and some music… and unless something else comes up, that’ll be it for the sum-up of January… not a whole lot happened worthy of mentioning…
It’s been a while since I picked up a couple of books… it’s fun, the anticipation of having something new to work through… I caught up with the House of Night series, which is getting more exciting but at the same time, I wonder how much longer it’s gonna be…

“Silver Linings Playbook” opened up a short dialogue with my friends, who’d seen the movie… I had wanted to keep in touch with my friends a bit more this year and that helped a little bit… I just have to keep pushing that…
anyway, the book had its ups and downs, as you could expect with the protagonist suffering bi-polar disorder and all that… it made me think of myself a bit with how things have been going, I continue to wonder if therapy would help a little bit… so far this year I’d been feeling pretty stable all around, but I’d kept busy so that helps… full of intrigue and you really got to know the characters well… the ending was great and was as could be expected… yes, the book does in fact have a silver lining πŸ˜‰ which is great

now I’m catching up with “The Host”… which is going a lot better than the last time where the first 100 pages DRAGGED… I’m feeling a little more sympathetic to the alien this time around… of course because I’m a sucker for the person who’s beyond the first person POV narrative… she’s something of a legend among the Souls, but she’s having difficulty subduing this particular host, who refuses to let her presence disappear… therefore, she’s subjected to feeling sympathy for people that her host cares about… it escalates until she refers to them as “us” in the narrative… 

in the meantime I have a stack of 5 books I’d bought but have yet to read… among them are Vampire Diaries, the first of Rick Riordian’s Egyptian series (which, like a lot of other books I’d gotten, I’m in danger of never finding the rest of the series because we don’t have a legit bookstore anymore), Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters, Phantom of the Opera (which I got YEARS ago and at last attempt, gave up after the first maybe 20-40 pages)… 

I also have a stack of CD’s I plan to get through… as I mentioned previously… because I’d recently gotten around to my new Coldplay album, I picked up Viva La Vida to double-check on some things… 

not quite as strange as I thought originally…. it helps to have the lyrics in front of me (Coldplay, why the hell don’t u include them in the booklets, that makes things SO much easier)… and there are a couple I can see adding to my iPod cuz they’re that cool…
“Cemetaries of London” was the first vocal track (the one before that was all instrumental) and its very haunting, as if the ghosts of the graveyard are coming out to dance to the music… my favorite… the other tracks seem to talk about love, which was something I didn’t quite expect to find at all… the music is so calculated that it’s spectacular at some points… 

then last night, inspired by the most recent “Glee”, to listen back to Christina Perri’s album… which I took for one rotation and kinda forgot about it…
she’s kind of the female version of what Maroon 5’s first album was like… very jazzy in places, reminds me a bit of Sara Baraeilles and Colbie Calliat… I only found fault for 2 songs out of 12… some really good stuff on that as well, which I could go into more after listening a few more times…

other stuff I have to get thru includes:
Hugh Laurie’s album (another “I listened once and forgot about it”)
Kris Allen’s 2nd (although I should probably listen to a little JMac beforehand cuz listening to the boyband-esque song of some of the songs made me feel homesick for that material)
The Bangles (hits)
rest of this record of 80’s club hits (where I found “Obsession” and “The Safety Dance” among others)
Moulin Rouge’s soundtrack (which I bought and forgot about… now that’s bad)… 
Casey Abrams, (heard it a few times but now I gotta make a decision on which tracks I would totally replay again)…
and of course the new ones I haven’t really gotten into fully: Ed Sheeran, Myolo Xyoto (from Coldplay), Kelly Clarkson (All I ever wanted… had to get it now that its dropped to $7)

filling in those blanks on my Excel sheet will make me feel less guilty when I start getting more music… therefore adding to the pile of stuff I haven’t fully gotten thru yet

so yeah, I think that’s about it for now and I guess I’ll post next after the SuperBowl… on the game and commericals 😎
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

