Found Colton’s new album

yesterday I didn’t necessarily have a valentine in mind to celebrate the day with, in whatever way I can manage as I’m not in any sort of relationship…
but I couldn’t help but feel that “the man upstairs” was looking out for me….

first because of a dream I had, which had one of the most perfect winter scenes I’d seen recently and… maybe a couple months later, reacquainted me with the Christmas spirit, what that feels like… I never would have figured that Santa Claus had a boss, certainly not God…
unless Santa Claus is Jesus… which is even weirder… Christmas is the birth of Jesus, and why would Jesus be giving us Christmas presents when it’s his birthday… so strange…
and technically the birth of Jesus wasn’t in December, if you’re going to be all scientific about it…

second… when things looked really bleak, thought I wasn’t going to find what I was looking for, when it was literally in the last place I looked (goes to show just how lax this place is at organization)

Thank God and I think He was looking out for me on this one…
I did, in fact, find Colton’s album at Wal-Mart… it was in the very last stack of CD’s that I didn’t even know was there until I went one extra step to the left where my sister was looking through music… there he was staring me in the face…

I wanted to wait until the precisely right time to listen through the album… and after much delay and ado last night, I decided to wait until today…
I ended up getting through, which I started a couple days prior, Sign o’ the times… and continued on to the 2nd disc… good stuff…

It’s been a pretty common occurrence and become so in recent years… when I listen to a new album, consistency is key and something I tend to worry about when something doesn’t feel quite right…

The first impression I got from Colton was that this was truly something I’d been waiting for for a while… technically something close to 10 months and things shook out exactly as I expected, especially after that preview with the snippets of all the tracks…

track 5, I believe it was released as the first single… it was either that or “You Are”… by far, my favorite on the album, and I already have a bunch I feel that strongly about… and I don’t get to say that about a lot of people in their first efforts… it kinda felt like going into a pattern, fitting into the mold of a comfortable set of sheets and blankets…

“Never Gone,” after a while, I got the feeling it’d be one of those tracks that I’d take down a notch because it didn’t suit me in particular… maybe a little too much on the Christian part of Christian rock, if you catch my drift…
and the next track, while not guilty of the same crime, jarred me simply because the vocal lacked variation… I’d heard it one time too many already…

I’d come across this impasse on a number of occasions… most of which I push forward and it takes a while to find my way again…. and perhaps the most extreme case was with Musicology and I just stopped after “Cinnamon Girl” because i didn’t like where the album was going as a whole.

I did NOT want this to happen to me again, ruin an entire run-through while trying to get back on track after one, seemingly, significant issue… so I decided that I’d stop the album for a while, take a break… get through the next task on my game to keep my mind off things for a bit…

well, doing so put my mind at ease because I couldn’t necessarily count on things to get back on track just as they started off…
but that’s exactly what happened… the next track took a little while for me to “get back on the horse” as it were… and the next track was one that I absolutely loved… so for the rest of it, it was pretty much smooth sailing…
the bonus track was also good, but I was pretty impressed with track 12, which was the only one he had no writing credits on, but Colton said that it fit the album perfectly and the message he wanted it to bring across…

a little preachy, yes, but I totally got it and the album kinda had me agreeing… him wanting his music and talents to show people the power of God… it’s a pretty powerful message and upon hearing some of the music on the album, I can’t deny that there’s some truth to that…
for any of us and our talents that could only be God given talents…

not that I’m going to convert or become devout or anything as a result, but I am a believer.

then on the other side of things, I decided to spend the morning, after checking out more of “The Office”… where apparently the sparks are still flying between Dwight & Angela and Andy is coming more of a jerk each time… all the Facebook comments are right, the show was at its best this season when he was GONE…

I watched “Heart & Souls” on HBO… yep, nothing quite as cathartic as a Downey performance… I was so chill and so enjoying myself that I kinda rememebered how I can get proverbially drunk on his presence… geesh, that’s not gonna sound right…
I’d been toying around with the idea of rewatching Avengers or a little more of Ally McBeal… anything to stave off rewatching the movies I’d seen dozens of times already…

between this and that, I’m feeling extremely relaxed and peacefully happy at the moment… so I’m wondering how long that’ll last… if watching “perks of being a wallflower”… at long last, will have me reconsidering things or getting as depressed and self-involved as I did when I was reading the book…

I’ll have to see what happens, I guess… but in the meantime, I’ll try to gather and hold onto as many of those happy moments as I can because I don’t have a whole lot to smile about… at least it feels like that a lot sometimes…

and I hope this Merlin story arc ends soon… it’s really annoying having an enemy inside Camelot that takes FOREVER to get exposed… or in this case, reverse the brainwashing…

now that I have Colton’s album, I’m thinking that I can officially consider myself done with American Idol… between him, Kelly Clarkson, Kris Allen (which will take a little more work on the 2nd album), Jordin Sparks, Clay Aiken, and Daughtry, I think I have all the artists I can handle 😎

it’s pretty amazing I hadn’t seen a single show this season and I plan to keep it that way

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

