Reflecting on Colton’s return to “Idol”

Going into this particular season of “American Idol,” I was thinking there’d be no way I’d be anywhere near it… as it turns out, only Colton’s involvement would do just that.

I may hold out for the possibility of watching the finale… I’ll have to see the guest list of course, but supposing Angie Miller makes the finale, I might stick around a) to see if she wins and b) if Colton signs on to do a duet with her of his song “Never Gone,” which she covered

on the utmost plus side, the guys have been dropping like flies… the bottom three this week was entirely guys, which is pretty amazing… they’re really conning the audience into pushing a girl into the winner’s circle…
almost as if the show will literally get the boot if a girl DOESN’T win this year

the best part aside from the obvious was seeing Jimmy Iovine… he hasn’t last his touch at all… uh, scratch that… he predicted an all-guys bottom three, but he picked the wrong guy going home…
I’d seen Laszo’s name come up a couple times on Lyndsay Parker’s Reality blog, so I assumed it was because he was the worst or he has an attitude or something… I don’t really read it, I just skim through to see who’d been going home these past couple weeks… to satisfy my curiosity

Without further ado, here’re my thoughts… 

Colton had said previous to the show that he was going to keep his lips sealed about which song he was going to do or “my record label would kill me”… he did slip that it would be something a little more upbeat, so I had a couple of ideas as to which songs were possibilities for his next single

:sigh:
I checked Facebook and went through my newsfeed… and more or less found out 3 hours before which song it was going to be… and I was disappointed… almost like my heart hit rock bottom
I wouldn’t have come across it on the radio anyway because I don’t listen to Christian music all that often to begin with, so it won’t be quite the same case as its been with Daughtry where their singles have annoyed me to no end… my annoyance has since been replaced with them only playing their oldest material, with the newest song being the first single of this new album… 

I don’t want to question the judgement of the artists who pick their singles… if they’re the ones doing the picking at all… I believe without a doubt that Colton picked out “Love has come for me”… 

I’m sure over time my alienation towards it will dissipate… but that was literally the point in the album that almost killed the experience for me… I had to take a 10-20 minute break before I was ready to go back in… part of it I think was the fact that his vocal range grew too repetitive and I literally needed to stop for a while, cuz I didn’t want my mood to improve over time and risk the next few songs not reaching me as strongly.

Now it’s about significiantly less than that… “Never Gone” was a little “in your face” for me, when it comes to pledging faith and embracing spirituality and all that. I have since turned a new leaf and come to enjoy it. In fact earlier the other day when listening to the album (in search of what this new “upbeat” single was going to be), it sounded great and I enjoyed/embraced it, which felt good after “You Are” fell a little flat…
I didn’t receive it as well this last time around… maybe cuz I oversinging, drowning it out, so I really couldn’t “feel” it as I usually do

If I were to analytically analyze why “Love has come for me” is one of the low points of the album… 
I’ll put it this way… I love the way it sounds at the beginning, how the verses run… the chorus is what kinda kills it for me… the sequence of notes used is completely different, too many highs and lows transpire over so little amount of time… 

This is where I am
And this is where you start
And everything I needed 
Is everything you are
Love has come for me
Love has come for me

the range between line 1 and 2 is so different that it rubs me the wrong way…
3 and 4, I realize is a commonality in Christian music (or love songs in general) and I think any songwriter has used it at some point… 

However, Colton, I will have to give you this: 
a) Loved your staging with the smoke machine and such, you & your band looked like the real thing
b) Loved the way you sounded on the chorus because you didn’t oversing or hit the high range hit on the recording
c) And always, you rocked it out the way I know you can

It doesn’t entirely make up for the fact he picked one of, maybe, two songs on the whole album that I don’t go crazy for… he did it well and I totally respected the performance…
if there was any negative, it was the use of the back-up singers, who I felt competed to be heard rather than letting Colton’s voice shine on its own

The other song on the album that I don’t readily get into it… I believe it’s track 10, the one right before my favorite on the whole album… 
“This is who I am” has a great message, as do all the songs on the record… it just doesn’t stand out quite as much I’m partially to blame because I always look forward to “In & Out of Time” whenever I listen to the album that I often forget that it’s there at all

I keep saying that someday I hope to do a full-length review of this album where I break down every track, give compliments where they’re needed and such… 
I’m dying, last night I was literally burning, to do that entry at long last… but I don’t think I’m there yet. I’m still learning the lyrics and such. I’d worked out some of it on keyboard, but that has caused some issues, especially when it comes to finding the notes actually used on the record…
I’ve misheard a few notes here and there…

case-in-point: “In & Out of Time”… the chorus has a tricky vocal maneuver in lines 2 & 4… that I’d missed a couple of times when I listened to it… I’d heard it a few extra times, which is the case with a couple others…
like the first day I revisited tracks 4-6… 5 & 6 to get a second opinion and 4 just to revisit greatness

It’s kinda funny that this is the second time on Good Friday I’m breaching the subject of spirituality in my blog entries… I remember last year listening to some “Born this Way” tracks and realizing their significance… “Judas” and “Blood Mary” specificially

Oddly enough, I was so tired last night… maybe cuz March Madness wasn’t quite as maddening… or exciting… but either way I ended up hitting the hay at 11:30… which is pretty spectucular for me, who has trouble being awake at 9am…
trust me, I can be a real zombie in the morning
that’s why I need coffee… the caffeine helps with the reanimation process

that’d be an interesting idea for a zombie story… where everyone needs coffee to reanimate into human tissue, but *surprise surprise* the world runs out of coffee!!
[I’ll have to log that away for another time, lol]

since I will be posting this link on my Twitter account, I just want to say that it’s not that I HATE (because hate is a strong word) track 6 of Colton’s album… it’s just my least favorite in the sense it doesn’t make me smile, I don’t respond to it, we’re just not quite compatible…

I’ll still listen to it as I will vow to listen to the album in its entirity whenever I put it on… no skipping anything…
meanwhile I am left with the dilemma of putting the rest of it on my iPod… I did my 3 favorites (well, 2 of my favorites… “Noise” was a gut feeling, I had to include it)… but I’m afraid to put it this album back in my disc drive and risk losing it on the sheer fact it’ll never open up again… 
but if I were to put another round of tracks on my iPod, it’d be “Where my heart goes,” the final 2 tracks and “Rise”… actually I’d put on “Never Gone” also… and “Scars”… the two of them were circling in my head feverishly last night after the show… 

“Scars” resonated a bit more with me this time around, which was kinda nice… 
hmm… I’m going to open up iTunes, so I’ll at least know right away whether my disc drive is in working order… if it is, the info will pop up right away…

one other thing I will say about the performance last night… however good I thought it was and the justice give to a track I have taken issue with (in my own personal way)… 
this is another personal quip…
Colton is at his absolute best when he’s playing on the piano, doing an intimate performance of a song… he brings so much to it, like he has this light in his eyes, but it takes over his whole face… it’s an inspiring quality that not many people have…

now I will cross my fingers and hope my PC will give me back my disc when I add some more of its goodness to my iTunes…
ok, I added at least a half a dozen more… I’ll let it cool down a little bit b4 I press eject… and voila… I have it back… 
putting it on my iPod comes down to two things
a) easy access and
b) learning the word…

I want to be sure I know this album well whenever I do decide to review it in my typical way… I’m a little extra protective this time around because I want to get the best results

The other night, so much came to mind as far as stuff I wanted to write in this entry… some I’ll likely have forgotten by the time I get up in the morning…

I said it’d be an album I’d listen to A LOT, but I don’t want to over rotate it to the point I don’t love it anymore… so far that hasn’t happened, and usually I will enjoy some tracks more some times and other times, not so much… something here will always pick up the slack and shine where I need to have a “moment”

if the catalog of my music collection proves anything, it is that music itself is my own religion… and there are so many facets that these things satisfy within me…
and I guess buying them helps fill a void in me… it helps me feel complete in moments where I feel like nothing…

Colton’s album is special for a number of reasons, but I like to believe one of them is because it exists (living & breathing) as a spiritual Christian record, where that faith is so tangible that you can’t help but be moved by it. 
Preaching faith in this way is contagious… I haven’t experienced it in quite this capacity before, which is an amazing feeling…

If anything, last night, I was reflecting that listening to this record makes me feel invincible… happiness shines through it and affects everyone it touches… 
It’s kinda mindblowing that he’s 20-21… knows exactly who he is and this acts as his identity… and he can sing and preach what he believes because there’s no grey zone… he lives & breathes what he sings… now that’s a quality I wish I had in my own life, being so sure of myself that I can openly explore in this way

and I should probably stop before I starting rambling a lot of unintelligible nonsense… I’d kinda lost my focus a bit in the past… well, a lot filters out of my head when I sleep…
so I thought, just maybe, I was tired because I felt complete somehow, now that everything has gone full circle with Colton…
I can put that to bed and start all over, put my energy and focus in other areas

like adding another entry to my movie blog, probably later tonight… and I’ve got a movie date coming up on Monday 😎
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

