Superstitution replaced by Blind[ing] Optimism

Some people say that it’s good to err on the side of caution every now and then…

But like with a lot of things regarding Robert, I overreacted and in this case, overcompensated…

I don’t regret it and in fact I might have experienced a lot of enjoyment simply because I didn’t dig too deep into the plot beforehand.
None of the reviews gave anything MAJOR away, especially regarding the villians.
Robert kept saying how Ben Kingsley was going to surprise people, but I didn’t have any idea what he meant

I anticipated The Mandarin being the Moriarty to Tony Stark… not quite…
but there are few things worse in a villian than a seemingly invincible one… that makes one scream “why won’t you die?!”

The finale was chaotic, bordering on psychotic (as in “so psychotic that an injury was so obviously going to happen”… combining a tad of arrogance courtesy of Tony Stark’s sizeable ego with impossibility & crazyness in stunt work… phew, thankfully it was just the ankle)

and I would have to surmise that the 3D would have made it even harder to follow…
so glad I didn’t see it in 3D, cuz I didn’t want to take that chance…

as far as critics go,
Richard Roeper loved it, gave it 3.5 stars (which I totally agree with)
Leonard Maltin loved it overall
Richard Travers, on the other hand, the guy from Rolling Stone magazine that posted a video covering his favorite Downey films… his headline said he was “Downey-ed out”…

that is not what you want to hear a Downey fan say…

granted, they took some liberties that could have been spared and whatnot… a couple easy laughs, one comes to mind that they could have done without…
but in the grand scheme of things, I will take the high road I tend to do with this guy and call the movie a sizeable success…

although I wouldn’t say it was “the best Iron-Man ever”… the original is just too good in my mind to really surpass…

I posted a review on my movie blog…
I’ll admit that it was a little biased as in I didn’t really talk about anyone else but him throughout it… and I love Gywneth Paltrow and the other cast members…
Jon Favreau got plenty of love and Ben Kingsley got a moment or two (within reason, the rest come with spoilers so I couldn’t go there)

in restropect, I should have mentioned something about her being named “The Most Beautiful Woman” by People magazine… a polarizing decision… and I’m surprised with all the hate that’s going around too…
is it because she won that Oscar for “Shakespeare in Love” over someone who played Queen Elizabeth?
is it because her first cookbook was supposedly not written by her?

people say she’s an unrelatable “elitist”… I don’t believe any of that… anytime I’d seen her on a talk show or whatever, she is so sweet and smart…
but truth be told, I really haven’t seen many roles I liked…
it’s been a while since “Shakespeare in Love” (I was still in high school)…
I didn’t really like her in the “Royal Tenenbaums” or “The Talented Mr. Ripley”… not really likeable characters, very blah…

Pepper Potts on the other hand… freaking love her… and the way they wrote up her relationship with Tony Stark… and like how she’s not the typical superhero love interest…
she gets to kick some butt in this movie, which is GREAT… we don’t get enough of that

so after I did the write-up on Monday, I went around yesterday to a couple of other reviews online of “Iron-Man 3” and posted a link to my own…
I haven’t gotten any replies or comments on it as of yet, but I figured it couldn’t hurt to get my name out there a little bit

The other day, I also tried a little something else in attempt to continue with the “name dropping”…
I tweeted to Jimmy Kimmel something I concluded from seeing the movie… and added a hashtag at the end to ask Robert about it…
no such luck, unfortunately, but can’t say I didn’t try.

it was a pretty cool conclusion I ended up drawing halfway into writing the review…

the parts of the film where Tony Stark has the suit and all his technology at his fingertips, in his comfort zone and all that… they had the feel of a big-budget summer blockbuster, glossy Hollywood and all that… not that that’s a negative thing, but there was a major constrast with the overall feel of the movie, the vibe, between that…

and when Tony Stark was “marooned” in Tennessee, aka the-middle-of-nowhere, with nothing but himself and a busted-up suit of armor…
he could only rely on himself to get through that chunk of the move. without the armor, he has to go incognito, under cover to get more information about his enemy and such… the level of acting was really high and excellent because all he had to rely on his own abilities as a human being, his intellect and all that… and for quite a while into that part of the movie, I believed he would be able to do just fine.

translation: he doesn’t need to hide behind a suit of armor to prove he’s a strong individual

all that reminded me of his indie film work, something I have MISSED like crazy, especially with all these big movies he’d been doing lately…
I’m not knocking on big movies by any means because that has done wonders for his career and reclaiming favor with the movie-viewing public, etc, etc., but I’m just saying that sometimes the best acting comes from the smaller pictures… and that doesn’t get appreciated quite as much

it’s stuff like that that wins Oscars…
maybe I just like the smaller stuff because he doesn’t get much of it anymore/I miss it, and because the smaller stuff feels like it’s closer to what he’s like as a person.. they’re more realistic people, more relatable… Tony Stark is a lot closer to his personality than Sherlock Holmes, but most of his qualities come from the suit itself

geesh, I gotta stop listening to Captain America :falloff:

but dude, you know I’m right

Personally, I hope that, should Robert find about this blog, he’ll be as understanding as Larry Paul is about Ally McBeal’s insecurities and fanatism and all that… rather than thinking I’m crazy

maybe it’s the fact he’s been talking about being such an optimist during his talk show appearances, but I’m feeling that sense of optimism from my side that things are gonna turn around… something I post on my blogs will get someone’s notice and eventually that’ll lead me to him and other people whose attention matters to me

if I comment on similiar posts and drop my name there as well, people will start to take notice of something… and hopefully my writing will improve to the point where it’ll inspire readership and people passing the word on to others and all that

I’m believing, somewhat blindly, that from there, one thing will lead to another, and I’ll achieve visibility… I will garner attention and people will be interested in what I have to say… and so on and so on

that’s the only thing left, really…
I’d spent so much time dumping on myself… another quote from him “if I’m not on my side, why should anybody else be?”

I’m not there yet, but I want to get to that point… and hopefully that will coincide with some compensation, people complimenting me, saying that they get where I’m coming from… actually, that’s positive reinforcement I’m thinking about…
if I receive positive feedback, I’ll be more likely to do more in the thirst for more…

something I write will have to get someone’s attention at some point and if I keep plugging away on Twitter, Facebook and so on… something has to happen… it’s just a matter of keeping at it and hopefully becoming better able to focus my writing and do it better

last night’s Jimmy Kimmel appearance was fun… there was a lot of macho energy there… a little narcissism… supposedly Robert posted a campaign on kickstarter.com about fundraising for another Iron-Man film…
I’m sure he’ll continue on with the movies if he thinks its in good tastes… he’s not going to want to be a fogey out there doing dozens of movies with this character until people get sick of it… especially after working so hard to win BACK favor with the movie-viewing public

all the same, though, I could not stop laughing during the show, and it was a natural light-hearted laugh… felt really good because I don’t get enough of that these days…
the chemistry between them was very entertaining and enjoyable and I had a great time with it…
I don’t think I remember anything from the actual interview… other than the kickstarter thing…

by the end of the night, I got to thinking about the next thing I wanted to write about him… how he’d been a new light in my life and all that… kinda putting down for my rememberence what that feeling was like…

and right now, I feel like I’ve run out of steam and things to really discuss
but since I changed my email on my Twitter account to my regular gmail, I’ll get my updates a lot quicker

follow me @DreamyPopJunkie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

