Rating the modern day Sherlockian Drama “Elementary”

[I actually had tons of text before this, but I decided this time I wanted to tighten things up]


Anyone who’s followed my blog before knows where my love of Sherlock Holmes comes from…
but it’s not as if I’d followed every single version of his stories’ retellings…
I think I’d barely seen a minute of the version with Benedict Cumberbatch… the man does not compute with me for whatever reason… I can’t put my finger on it… maybe it’s just his really low, droll voice… and upon hearing how a great a villian he is in the next “Star Trek” movie, I have to sorta wonder if Guy Ritchie shouldn’t have dropped him a line to play Moriarty… granted, the age is all wrong, but still… he carries more intimidation than Jared Harris did…

aside from the Guy Ritchie films and one version with Peter Cushing in the title role, “Elementary” is the only other version I’d watched religiously… unless of course you count “House” in the same conversation… it’s not a literal adaptation for Sherlock Holmes, but there are allusions floating around everywhere 😎 

I’m not a Sherlockian expert by any means… I’m not Leslie Clinger, this tax lawyer who lives in Malibu, who knows “[Sherlock] would never call him [Watson] John”… among millions of other things about Sir Conan Doyle’s world… 
I’m as much an expert as one who’d seen a couple Sherlock Holmes films and read all of the stories

what intrigued me about “Elementary” was the fact Watson was female in their version…
Lucy Liu plays Joan Watson, a former surgeon who made a living as a live-in sober companion for recovering drug addicts… and Sherlock Holmes, played by Brit Jonny Lee Miller, is (as of the time he meets Watson) a consulting detective who works with the NYPD… who had recently done a stint in rehab to recover from a heroin addiction

to a degree, that does make a lot of sense… except that Sherlock Holmes more than occasionally dealt with cocaine in the source material…
maybe it’s because these days heroin is “in” 
he had previously doing consulting work in London, but he had since moved to New York, perhaps to get over a little tragedy in his own life…

throughout the series, Watson made sure Sherlock was staying clean and she’d go with him on causes he had with the police… where she starts to learn his methods and so on… after her time with him as a sober companion ended, he began training her to better know his methods… 
their relationship is pretty crazy, but in a crazy good way… so far, it has been strictly plutonic with not even a hint that they might get together… I’m hoping it stays that way because bringing romance into these things tends to ruin it…

the lone exception so far that I had seen was in “Castle” where the romance between Castle & Beckett (aka: “Caskett”) helped better the show rather than take away from it…
someone else might bring up “Bones”… and I tend to agree… I didn’t mention it simply because I really don’t watch the show…

as for “House,” as everyone knows… when House & Cuddy became “Cuddy”… the ratings plummeted and the show more or less lost whatever credibility it had left when they broke up

judging from the finale of “Elementary,” it’ll be a LONG time before anything happens between Sherlock & Watson, if anything at all… because it got really complicated

I have to take a moment to ask if the use of Irene Adler in these adaptations was always the norm or did Guy Ritchie start something when he converted this minor-one-story character into a major character? Because since Rachel McAdams assayed the role (I only have two others to take into account at this point, and given my take on “Sherlock,” it goes without saying that she’ll always be my favorite incarnation), it seems like everyone else has wanted to use that character somewhere…

she featured in only one story… “A Scandal in Bohemia” and she barely had 10 pages of mention for anyone to work off of… unless of course Conan Doyle had some old papers where he discussed her in length that I don’t know about…
Moriarty on the other hand is an absolute must-have if you’re going to be adapting Sherlock Holmes to any degree… small screen or big screen…

he’d come into the story little by little these past few weeks, carrying a very daunting presence over the cell phone calls…
supposedly he was responsible for the death of Irene Adler and Sherlock has been on his trail (rather the trail of her killer, he didn’t have a name until much later on) ever since… 
then at the end of the previous week’s show, he found her alive and is practically lost for words

but I started to think… do we have an error in continuity here? 
the first time she was mentioned, they said he met her in rehab… but in the retelling, it seems that he met her before even becoming an addict and in fact, her death is the reason he became one…

heck, it made a lot more sense to me for him to have met her in rehab, they got really close and she ended up dying of an overdose or something… but I guess they needed a mechanism to set off his addiction in the first place… that would certainly explain how he thought she’d been dead this entire time because he didn’t see her die… didn’t even see a body… 

the big twist had me thinking of another “taking of poetic license” I didn’t appreciate…
I lost my temper with “Once Upon a Time” not once but twice because of how the villians weaved their way into their individual stores…

firstly, it being revealed Regina’s mother Cora was behind the death of Snow White’s mother AND she orchestrated the whole scene where Regina saves Snow’s life when she comes by on a runaway horse… 
The original fairytale didn’t really explain how Snow  White’s mother died… heck, not even how her father died… you just know that she’s in the shadow of a Wicked Queen who forced her to wear rags to hide her beauty from the world…
the two Snow White films had different versions of this…
“Mirror Mirror” had her die in childbirth and “The Huntsman” had her dying of a terminal illness…
but I was raving mad when Cora was at Snow’s mother’s bedside, saying that she had to die so her daughter could assend the throne… 

BITCH!! 
I could not stop screaming at the TV during that particular show because they went WAY too far with justifying their means…
and there’s one piece still missing… Cora was a miller’s daughter who eventually married a king… why did she need to kill someone else to put Regina on the throne when she was already in line for it? they didn’t fully explain that story… I still haven’t gotten over that…

the 2nd was regarding Tamara… introduced to us as Neal’s finacee… Neal being the ex-boyfriend of Emma Swan, her son Henry’s father and son of Mr. Gold (aka Rumplestilskin)… but supposedly she had been on a quest to find magic in the real world and more or less hit the jackpot with Neal who eventually brought her to Storybrooke… 
not only did she orchestrate the entire thing where they met… tracking down August (aka Pinnochio) since first meeting him in Asia where they found a man who supplied magical cures for otherwise uncureable aliments… but she and a couple other people aren’t even after magic to use it… they want to extinguish its “unholyness” from the world… 
are they freaking Catholics or something? WTF?!

anyway… that rant’s over…
the connection I’m trying to make is the reveal of Moriarty had me wanting to scream at the TV again because there is just no way… the source material carries no precident for this… 

at first I suspected that Irene was working with Moriarty and was putting on an act for Sherlock to get inside his head and so on…
well, apparently THEY’RE THE SAME PERSON…

like, what the hell… they’re two distinct separate characters… where do these people even get off making that kind of cockamayne scheme up?!

while I kept thinking that at least Irene was fitting the bill of the character as Rachel McAdams protrayed her… and actually admitting it made a lot of sense for this mass-manipulator to be a woman… and actually 100x more intimidating than Jared Harris was… 
I still can’t abide by it… mashing these two characters into one… just doesn’t make sense to me… 

heck, it’d make a lot more sense if Moriarty was actually an alternate personality of Sherlock Holmes so he would literally be his own worst enemy…
like a Jekyll & Hyde thing…
the only downside about that is there is no good way to resolve it… it’ll end in mass murders or Sherlock Holmes committing suicide to save mankind from his other half… 

the scenario makes a lot more sense than my previous idea of Sherlock Holmes being a vampire… I don’t know where the hell I was taking that context from… I found myself instantly stumped the moment I tried to figure out his diet… 

so overall, “Elementary” was a great version of the Sherlock Holmes stories… and there will be another season… but this last debacle is gonna be hard for me to forgive…

on the plus side, they found a way to actually capture Moriarty and press charges… whereas in every other version, the only way to bring him down is for Sherlock to take him down with him… that’s one area they managed to improve things…
😕 geesh… makes me kinda worried that Guy Ritchie might never put together a third installment for his series of films… given recent discussions, I’m not sure if Robert’s gonna be up for returning to that role for a while… if ever again… they need to regroup and put together one smashing final installment because that’s a pretty sucky note to end it on… hinting at a sequel, but not copulating to it

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

