Reality updates, conspiracies and annoyances

While my folks remain up in arms about the conspiracies surrounding politics and such… I have my concerns about reality TV… 

although with politics and such, I have to say one thing… 
I did vote yesterday, but it was within my party (as primaries tend to be) but I did it mainly to help our neighbor (he and his wife are HEAVY into politics locally… I’d say she has a passive-aggressive demeanor with a “take-no-prisoners” attitude regarding politics… translation: she won’t openly say it point-blank, but if you disagree with her, “you’re an idiot”… is more or less the attitude)…
he succeeded on both tickets… not so much with the other 3 people the two of them strongly suggested we vote for…

and the only other thing I can say right now is that I hope Chris Christie gets re-elected…
talk about a “take-no-prisoners”/”tell-it-like-it-is” kind of guy…
they’d been airing ads about his competition and right now, I’m really peeved about the fact that it’s a FALL election thing… so we still have to be subjected to that shit for another several months…
all the polls and online things kinda says she has NO shot

Anyway…
American Idol…

SO happy for Candice… she was the most deserving winner out of all the girls…
heck, these past couple weeks, she’s convinced me that I just might get her album when it comes out and I’m not usually into R&B artists… not female R&B artists anyway…
Kray-Kray (Kree Harrison) was an early favorite of mine (as of when I started watching with the top 7)… but she fell out of my favor in recent weeks… her best performance was her final one, it was the best song choice and overall set-up

Angie, I’m just hoping for a record deal cuz I’d buy her album SO fast… you’d see a vapor trail πŸ˜‰

and I’m just hoping that the axe officially falls on the rest of the panel…
Minaj is somewhere on my list of most annoying people on the planet… but it’s hard to really know where to put her as far as the “nails-on-a-chalkboard” effect goes… as literally listen to a person talk has me trying to recover brain cells…
as of right now, tied with all the Kardashians… 

and as of this past week with the Billboard awards, Justin Beiber is currently at the top of that “most annoying people on the planet” list… 
all the more proof that regular people should never be allowed to vote at awards shows because they have zero taste and really zero knowledge of what the hell they’re doing…

luckily his “milestone award” speech got booed, that gave me some relief (I heard about it after the fact)… 
the only milestone he had recently is that he’s on a lot of proverbial “hit” lists… the center of jokes and paparazzi and ridicule… 
a small part of me will always be pissed that more people know of him than Jesse McCartney, but at this given time, it’d be an insult to Jesse to even put them in the same class… at least he’d stepped away from some of the bubblegum and solidifed some sort of brand for himself…
I say some sort cuz I don’t know what the hell kinda music he’s doing anymore… haven’t seen in an album since 2008 :facepalm: 

recently I got Carrie Underwood’s “Blown Away” album for one song in particular, but with the tornado disaster in Oklahoma, I got the title track in my head and had to listen to some of the album again… the song itself actually turned me up inside a bit… of course you can’t help but feel bad about what happened out there…
my only criticism is that with any of these natural disasters, they do [seemingly] non-stop coverage… like “enough already, I’d seen the same footage 3x already”

and I’d been finding more songs that I’d been liking that I didn’t really respond to the first go-through… I didn’t grow up in the south and I don’t really live in a “small town” anymore so it’s a little harder to really relate to country music in general… of course her voice is flawless and powerful 
the most impressive song so far is track 3 “2 black cadillacs” 
which sounds like its about having a funeral for this guy who was supposedly seeing two women who found out about one another and they conspired to kill him… very haunting stuff :shudder:

speaking of country music, though…
a big ol’ BOOYAH! to Kellie Pickler for winning Dancing with the Stars…
lol… I think when my dad picked her at the beginning of the season, he said it as a joke  
she’d been somewhat of a punchline the past few times she’d been on TV, first with American Idol… for a number of reasons, one being her freaking out over a lobster in a scene with Wolfgang Puck… and another on “are u smarter than fifth grader” where she quipped “I thought Europe was a country”… 

but in recent years, she’d really come out as an amazing person… her pixie haircut is the result of her shaving her head for a friend who went through cancer treatment… and she’s an equally amazing dancer to… never woulda thunk it
her Freestyle with Derek was so amazing I have to throw in a suggestion that he be a choreographer on my other show “so you think u can dance” cuz he could practically do anything, even lyrical contemporary like that… just wow…

part of me does kinda wonder if Derek won all these times cuz of him or his contestants or his amazing routines… 
I still believe to this day that Evan Lysacek & Anna shoulda won that year since of him and Nicole Scherizinger… she doesn’t annoy me as much as some of these other people I’d mentioned, but the annoyance factor is there… 

some people have said that the “Idol” season has been a big conspiracy cuz all those guys were sent home in a row… cynics wonder if that wasn’t done on purpose by the execs…. but really if they were really in charge… another conspiracy woulda been realized… Angie would have won because she’s the whole package of what a star should “look like”…
I think Lyndsay Parker suggested in one of her postings that things were geared more towards her than Kray-Kray and Candice because of their size… 
but gosh dang it, Candice looks and sounds amazing… a living breathing example that someone like Mercedes from “Glee” can make it in this business

I’m thinking that “The Voice” has something brewing in their cauldron to that effect…
it can’t be just coincidence that two weeks in a row…
1) the eliminated contestants happened to be guys
2) 
the eliminated contestants happened to be on teams with newbie coaches Usher & Shakira

I hadn’t really been a big fan of Usher’s team in general… the only ones I picked out from the auditions were eliminated in the battle rounds, leaving me with just his steal, Cathia… 
but I will say this… Michelle Chamuel… her Katy Perry audience, I really did not like at all… but then again, “I Kissed a Girl” isn’t the best auditon song (or anything by Katy Perry for that matter, that hasn’t helped anyone get on the show)
but since then, she has blown my mind with each performance… I became a fan overnight and I cheer whenever she kicks major butt… her best comes out when she covers Pink, but then again, Pink has really impressed me in recent months with her latest onslaught of music… one of the strongest female artists I know… 

but there really are several of those… I don’t think there’d been any other time in the history of the music industry that we’d had so many strong female artists…
the 90’s had Britney, Christina, Jessica and Mandy… but now that’s nothing compared to the onslaught of:

Pink, Adele, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood… and I’m probably forgetting several… 
it’s a special time we’re living in right now 😎 :fistpump: Girl Power!

I didn’t think Josiah would really get far… he didn’t really impress me until the previous week with “The Man who can’t be moved”… and his Coldplay cover was the best version I’d ever heard of Coldplay being doing on any show… the judges didn’t really agree with me on that but you know, he did real well… 

as for Shakira’s team… Garrett wasn’t all that great to begin with, so his elimination was welcome…
Kris Thomas was the last original member of her team that I picked out from the auditions… I think he’s got amazing range and such emotionality… perhaps it was the song choice that did him in, although he did make Miguel sound good (the dude peeves me in general cuz they’d compared him to Prince… idiots, don’t you be comparing nobody to Prine)

which leaves her with her steal from Team Adam, Sasha Allen… who was an early favorite of mine, but since the first few rounds, I haven’t been entirely convinced… not sure if she has what it takes to really bring it, especially when she has Judith and Danielle to compete with

so I’m wondering…
have these people been eliminated cuz they’re simply not as good as the rest?
is it because they’re guys? 
is it because there’s more love for veteran coaches Adam and Blake?

now I’m thinking:
:gasp: does Blake’s reign of victories have something to do with the fact he’s a southern guy? and that there’s some kinda hold that the south has on contestants?
cuz I’d wondered if that’s why Angie didn’t win… was it because she was from the northeast?

why no love for my neck of the woods? seriously? 

granted, Blake’s got a great team… as much as I’d love to see his ego cut down to size this season after winning 2 in a row… he has great people…

The Swon Brothers have rallied these past 2 weeks… really winning me over with their performances… to the point I’m cheering for them… and for some time, I wasn’t convinced they were strong enough… um… hell yeah, they’re totally strong contenders…

Holly Tucker was an early favorite, but I find her in the same boat with Sasha… wowed me early on, but since then, I’m concerned they don’t have the power to win votes like their competitiors…

for the first time in the past 2 weeks, Sarah Simmons got me back on the bandwagon… whatever song she did this past week, that’s what she should be doing… the past 2, I just haven’t been a fan at all πŸ˜• 

Amber Carrington has also won me over little by little each week and I think she’s got the momentum to carry her well through the next couple weeks…

but for me, it’s really down to Danielle (whose voice has been flawless every time) and Judith (who’s probably the most deserving because she literally has everything… last week she did something at the piano that I really liked, so she can bring it like Alicia Keys and then some)… 

Adam really needs the victory to put Blake in his place, haha
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

