Guide to Recognizing your Saints- going beyond

I’m sure a title will come to me eventually…

I mainly wanted to post this entry so I can put down this link for future reference

http://www.femail.com.au/a-guide-to-recognizing-your-saints-interview-characters.htm

I’m not quite sure what it is about some of Robert’s movies… even when it’s not my favorite Downey film… there’s something to be said if I find myself drawn back to certain movies and finding more about them in research…

maybe it’s getting to know more about how these movies get to be made or it’s just me just thirsty for more Downey-centric knowledge.
I’m always eager to find out more.
I looked through the TV guide using the “keyword” search and supposedly he and Maggie Gyllenhaal are going to be featured in a PBS show about finding your roots… ancestry and all that…

what I know about him as far as his family history… just what I heard ala his “Inside the actor’s studio”… his father’s original last name was Elias, and that side of his family descends from Russian Jews… his mom’s side, I’m not too sure. I believe he said she has multiple ethnicities, but I could be wrong…. it’s been known to happen

Getting to know him is a fascinating process that’s become a guilty pleasure of a hobby. Heck, I should put more of my attention on getting my own act straight, but every now and then in my searching, as I make more connections between him and other people he’d worked with… sometimes when I read or listen to him talk about working on a project, I think of it from my own perspective… how I might go about that in my own writing.

One thing he said that really stuck with me was the role he has as producer… all the more proof that his directorial debut and the possibility of becoming a writer/director aren’t too far off…
he said his one job as producer was to have the director’s back (this being the writer of the source material, Dito Montiel himself)…

“If [Dito] became obsessed with one approach or another, my role was to say ‘OK, go explore it.’ My feeling is you can never go wrong by instilling in your director that they’ve got to go through what they’ve got to go through.”

pretty fascinating stuff…
you never really know what’s waiting around the bend unless you explore it…
right now all I can really think about with my writing process is “Te Busque”… it’s been getting a lot of my attention lately, between listening to some of the 30+ songs I have on heavy rotation… there is going to come a point where I will have to literally see what works and what doesn’t… like in different character sketches and stuff… don’t completely eliminate an idea either because it’s too scary to attempt or because it’s not quite what I’m looking for…

then Dito said something interesting in another interview I read of his about working on this movie… he said he wrote it in a way where, ultimately, there were no villains in this… nobody was “vilified”…
not many films take this route, and often times, the indie circuit is where it works the best… certain material does better away from the mainstream because it’ll turn it into something it’s not meant to be… the true heart of matter won’t come across as well as it could have.

that got me thinking about how I’d like to write about my own characters… I’d been painting one girl as a villainess in my mind because she ultimately ends up moving and shaking a few things for the purpose of coming out on top… or quite possibly, making sure her demons never come back to haunt her… I’d like all these girls to be relatable to someone so people can come back to the story to spend time with those characters…

at the given moment, I want to continue pursuing this as if the story is focused mainly on Talia and the other girls serve to add detail to her character… but I don’t want them to be strictly two dimensional… I’m sure a handful will remain “well-rounded” as secondary characters tend to be… heck, one of them, I still haven’t figured out her backstory yet…

now that I’m thinking about, supposing I was ever asked about my motivation behind putting this piece together, I’m not sure I even have a legit answer beyond wanting to put together a few visual sequences that jumped to mind when listening to certain songs…

maybe, just maybe, in the vast scope of things, Talia represents how I feel about my own life… how I feel like I’m geared towards or programmed to fulfill a certain role… because of her rough past, she only believed she was meant for one path for the rest of her life… until she falls in love with the right person and sees that there’s another life for her where she’s happy and truly be herself… someone secure and confidence with themselves, both inside and outside… physically, sexually, mentally, emotionally, etc, etc.

neither of us have realized our full potentional yet, and it’s just a matter of coming into the right circumstances and meeting the right people in order to make the change…

not quite the same as the story of this movie… I could say that there are similarities, but I’m probably just starved to make another connection…

the movie’s about facing your past and embracing the parts of it (good and bad) that shaped the person you’ve become…

I could say that Talia’s actually my sexy alter ego, but I don’t really see myself AS her… aside from being resigned to our current paths in life, we really have nothing else in common…
although a little misguided and seemingly set in her ways, she represents a lot of what I desire to be… and I’ll start in saying “I’d kill to be able to dance as well as she does… look as sexy doing her thing as she does”…

man, right now I think I’d kill to be someone who needs reading glasses because I could totally pull off the sexy librarian/bookworm type

of this moment (for the past month), I’d been rocking a Gatsby-roaring 20’s short hair style (not AS short as Daisy Buchanan, but close) and I’m in search of the right fedora to complete the look I’m going for 😎

so much for being a short entry…
the only other person I’d ever gone so far into with research is Prince… but even with as far as I’d gone into him… I think I’d gone further down the rabbit hole with Robert…
which is great each time, but I got to wondering earlier…

“what am I tryiing to accomplish in finding out all this stuff about him? It’s not as if I’m getting to know my future husband here”… watching a show about ancestry just to find more about his just screams that scenario…

hopefully some day soon, I’m find out the reason for all this… better yet, maybe he could explain it to me himself… at least lately when I’m doing the research at the drop of a hat, I’m trying to find out how I can benefit from the information I find… whether it enriches me as a person or it’s something I want to write about or just an area IN writing I want to explore further

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

