“Precious”- my idea for a Plushenko YouTube montage

For those unfamiliar with my favorite Depeche Mode track, I’ve included the lyrics

“Precious”

Verse 1
1 Precious and fragile things
2 Need special handling
3 My God what have we done to you
4 We always tried to share
5 The tenderest of care
6 Now look what we have put you through

(Chorus- 1)
Things get damaged
Things get broken
I thought we’d manage
But words left unspoken
Left us so brittle
There was so little left to give

Verse 2
Angels with silver wings
Shouldn’t know suffering
I wish I could take the pain for you
If God has a master plan
That only He understands
I hope it’s your eyes He’s seeing through

(chorus- 2)

Verse 3
I pray you learn to trust
Have faith in both of us
And keep room in your hearts for two

(chorus- 3)
***

I mentioned in my entry on my favorite Depeche Mode tracks how it eerily reminded me of him and the circumstances of how he found a place in my heart and my prayers.
Brainstormed a little bit just now with a cup of Chai tea in front of me. I love how that stuff has so many layers and flavors, kind of the way I feel when I watch his skating. The visual artistry is beautiful and often times, the music moves and feeds my soul as much as it is pleasing to my ears.

My idea is still very rough around the edges. I have no definite choreography in mind for any particular moment.
I do, however, have the following:

Verse 1-
lines 1-3: footage from the Sochi Olympics from his free skate in the team competition
[starting with his “Shh” pose going into Tango Amore section, ending with a completed triple axel]
lines 4-6: warm-up for individual competition
[skating around, prepping to jump, ending with the triple axel when everything went wrong]

Chorus (1)-
focuses on his farewell at Sochi’s Ice Berg, ending with him walking away into the locker room

…after this point, I’m not married to any specific choreography.

Verse 2, I want to focus on the artistry of his step sequences in the form of a montage. Routines like:
*Tosca Fantasy (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X05PbbhnS8w) the final step sequence that begins the final 3rd of the program)
*Tango Amore
*Tango Roxanne (2012 Euros in Sheffield- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBJtNXvyWbg)
*”The Town Which Doesn’t Exist” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOy74GnPNko)

a mix of fast and slow, but I feel like slower would fit (which is why I didn’t include St. Petersburg 300 or Tribute to Nijinsky among these other classic programs). the movement I keep seeing over and over in my head is him shifting back and forth on his skates while covering short distances (Tango Amore has some of this as does Tosca).

Around the lyric “I hope it’s your eyes he’s seeing through”, I’d like to see the beginning of “Concierto de Aranjuez” where he has this pose

fade/transition to:

Chorus-2 I want the first time he stepped on the ice since the surgery in that Japanese show he appeared on with Miyu Honda, testing the ice, skating and spinning around
Verse 3 and Chorus 3, more of the same, but also some footage from the shows he did in Japan and China, the verse with him standing still waiting to begin and the Chorus with him skating

the rest, I will leave to whoever puts everything together, so long as they stick to the elements I described. Step sequences and spins, but no triple jumps or quads
The final moment, where the beat comes to a stop, I want to be his first jump after the surgery
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJIMzVjfiPM)

I know he can jump šŸ˜› but that’s not why I fell in love with his skating.
Nowadays, young and upcoming male skaters like Yuzuru Hanyu can do a couple quads in a program so it isn’t enough to set him apart.
For me, it was the aura he put out on the ice that I noticed first. How he owned it. Then that one pose made me gasp, everything stopped and he officially made everyone who watched him “HIS” for the rest of the program… possibly even forever.

If at all possible, I don’t want to always remember him for the tragedy. The injury. Even if that’s the one thing that compelled me to follow him on social media. It’ll serve as the solid reminder in my head that he is HUMAN, that despite how he carries himself on the ice when he’s competing, he does this for himself and to bring joy to his fans.

I want to remember him for the way he makes me feel when he skates or the way he makes me smile when I see pictures of him on Twitter or read quotes from him.
So I guess what I’m trying to say is “Precious” montage will be a tribute to him, how I came to became a fan and why I’m in it for life.
[and I gotta say, for worse and for better, these almost 10 months of being a fan of Plushenko’s already feels like a lifetime :P]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

