Yes, Prince, you are my every fantasy [Rave in2 comments]

I noticed this recently.
But there are two occasions where Prince has the lyrics “every fantasy”.

In “Insatiable” [Diamond & Pearls] he says “you are my every fantasy”
But my title refers more to “Adore” [Sign o’ the times] where he asks “was I the first? was I your every fantasy?”

And I’m going to keep up with my personal policy- I’m going to refer to him in present tense because although he may be gone, he is still very present in my life.

But in not-so-true fashion, I’m going to keep this short because I really don’t have a lot of time.
I really don’t have a lot of time after working 8 hours.

I have “Rave In2 the Joy Fantastic” on my iPod so I can start getting to know it better and also trying to discern it from “Rave Un2 the Joy Fantastic” while doing some comparisons and such.

Today when I listened to it I had some moments where I had to take a break for a couple minutes. To stop my mind from racing so I can calm down.
And I’ll start by saying it’s not what it sounds like… but there were some intense moments where I felt self-conscious that I was on my iPod with people nearby as if they could see my thoughts floating above my head.

I was barely 21 when I started listening to Prince. I’m now barely 30 (birthday’s at the end of July).
And I’m still a virgin. I’m just not as naïve about things as I was before Prince came into my life and I guess you could say he was my sexual education. Pamphlets and health class can only teach you so much.

Anyway…
this is basically a remix album. Almost of the tracks are identical, but most of them are different versions.
“Beautiful Strange” is the only new song… very mesmerizing and kinda trippy. Lots of guitar and funky bass.
It took the place of “Everyday is a winding road” (that I don’t think anyone missed) and “Strange but true” (which I miss having very much).

To my ears, two of the songs are identical to what they were on the original album.
Some got remixes- some were improvements, others… I’d prefer not to have them on the albums at all, personally.

But to get to the point really quickly:

The Greatest Romance has a really extended version. I checked my iPod, it runs over 8 minutes long. And I honestly wouldn’t mind being in that state for longer.
It opened with some new lyrics and had a long instrumental in the last couple minutes. Otherwise, it was roughly the same song. I loved this video when I first saw it- such a beautiful video to look at. And it’s a big reason why I wanted this album (plus, Prince promoted it so much so clearly he really believed in it).
I imagine this becoming a real guilty pleasure. If I was not feeling good or just sad about something, I would love to lay in bed with this song just to make me feel better. And I’m sure it would do the trick.

Hot with U gets a little bit of a makeover with the “Nasty Girl” chorus replacing the original one.
But when I thought about it, I started to wonder if it was a nod to S&M. And I also wondered if Prince was into that because it had come up in his music a couple of times.
Nothing would surprise me, honestly.
But those two songs had me over the top and I had to stop.

Should also maybe mention a couple weeks ago when I listened to “Insatiable”, I swear I had my first eargasm. It got really hot and steamy and I loved every minute of it. I was in my car so I only had to worry about staying in my lane 😛

then “Sun Moon and Stars”… I remember having moments in college where I was alone in my dorm room listening to and singing with the song. one of my favorite bedroom ballads from him and kinda underrated, I think.
I could imagine a moonlight picnic and a slow dance with this one.

It took me a long time to come off cloud 9 that time… but that’s the way it should be. Just really loving Prince’s music and enjoying that special time I have while listening to him. There’s nothing like it in the world.
And I completely forget the fact he’s no longer with us.
And maybe that’s the whole point- as long as I keep his music in the mix and I’m having a good time with it, he’s never truly gone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

