Love Me like You Do- a new Plushenko montage

Might as well do what I have been doing and write a quick blog post about my latest YouTube montage.

This one will be short because it’s been a long exhausting day. Work, mostly. But hammering out the final details of this montage, getting the timing just right… I have a headache.

First, some background…

I won’t get into why I read “50 Shades of Grey” and why I wanted to see the movie (recently, I saw the sequel and liked it a lot more than the original, which I liked, but still had issues with… it’s a tricky subject matter).

But if I got one big thing from that movie, it was this song. The moment “Love Me like You Do” started to play, I knew that it was a song I was going to love. I actually teared up in the theater because it was such a beautiful song. And also- I didn’t want the honeymoon period of the movie to end (we were about to reach some pretty intense subject matter) but it was unavoidable.

There are times where I will imagine Plushenko skating while listening to certain music. And I kept coming back to this one for some strange reason. It finally got to the point where I had to give in and give it a chance.

Let’s be clear: Plushenko is incredibly handsome and when he performs in programs like “Tango Amore,” he can be very sexy. But I don’t want to think of him too much in that way. [That’s the main reason why “Sex Bomb” is an exhibition from him that I hadn’t really wanted to watch].

I wrote in the description of my video: “This beautiful song may be from “50 Shades of Grey,” but my feelings for the video’s subject are nothing more than pure admiration.”
***

I just wanted to make a few notes about the making of the video.
This was probably the easiest time I’d had making a montage. Mainly because I paced myself. But I also came in being the most unsure about what footage I wanted to use. I only had a few small ideas.

“What are you waiting for?” had to be a standstill or coming to a standstill.
“Head spinning around”- I had to had spins.

The clearest idea I had was the first major chorus where he’s dashing back and forth in front of the crowd.
And the fist pump from “Maybe I Maybe you”- that was the trickiest one to time perfectly with the music. And somehow, it came together during my last editing process. Completely by accident.

My favorite moment was the first “my head’s spinning around, I can’t see clear no more”- there’s a shattered glass effect in the music and I had the perfect transition setting for it. I played around with that spin from his 2005 Cup of Russia exhibition (“The Town Which Does Not Exist”)… it was pure luck, I swear. It just got timed perfectly when I split the clip at that point.

What else can I say?

I want to do another montage- I have some songs in mind, but I don’t know which one to work with first. But I need another break. Most likely, I will start in April, a few weeks before it’s time for me to stop.

But I also hadn’t watched too much of Plushenko’s skating this winter- not the way I had these past couple years.
I’ve had a lot of other things going on. And it feels good getting a little separation from him. I certainly spent a lot of time with him over the course of the surgeries and the recovery afterwards.
But he seems to be in good health now, so I don’t need to worry as much.

There’s always the question of the next Olympics, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

Maybe for my next montage- I want to narrow my focus a bit. I always use a dozen different videos. It’d be nice to do one with just three or four.

At least with this one, I had a bit of a balance between the three aspects of his skating.
I LOVE step sequences and how he moves across the ice. That’s something nobody can touch. Yuzuru, Javier Fernandez and others can do the jumps and spins (some even better than him), but nobody has that electric magical energy.
This time around, I think I used more jumps than I ever had. Which is nice.
The jumps don’t often fit in with the music I use, but this time, I made exceptions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

