Music of the 80’s- Featured Artist- Gloria Estefan

I guess you could technically say it’s Gloria Estefan and the Miami Sound Machine because a lot of the songs on the hits album we own were from the time the band was together… but since it’s credited to her, well, you get the idea…

Miami Sound Machine had a song on the Top Gun soundtrack- “Hot Summer Nights.” And I’d had that album since the late 90’s. But the first time I heard of Gloria Estefan was on VH1’s Behind the Music. According to the video on YouTube, it was from 1998. Sounds about right. I don’t know how it came about that we decided to watch it, but shortly after, we got her greatest hits album. And like just Bruce Springsteen and The Moody Blues had previously, she became a staple in our car when we drove into New Jersey to see family. It was a pretty sweet deal.

My knowledge isn’t much further along than that. I know she came over her from Cuba. She and her husband had been together for a long time (since 1978, in fact). The two of them put together “On Your Feet!”- a Broadway musical about her, her songs and their love story. She was also one of the first Latinas to cross over into pop music and opened the door for future artists in the genre like Shakira and, probably, Jennifer Lopez.
On his 1st wife Mayte Garcia’s album, Prince had a reference to Gloria Estefan in their cover of “Brick House” where he chimes in falsetto “Gloria Estefan… Mayte’s in the house.” So clearly he was aware of her talents and impact on that part of the music community. Mayte’s most prevalent realm of fame continues to be her belly-dancing, but I really liked her album. Very underrated in terms of his long line of protégé projects.

Also, the one thing that stood out in that documentary was her bus accident and I think she had her back screwed back together with rods and screws. Both of us have that in common, but my reason for needing them was completely different. In fact, when I heard that I’d be needing it to straighten my back, someone commented to me that she had the same thing. I think someone said to her that she’d never be able to have children and she went on to defy those odds. (Her second was born in 1994, four years later)

Now for the music… this hits album had 14 songs, but only 9 were from the 80’s.
“Coming Out of the Dark” was the first song she put out after her bus accident and it’s pretty powerful.
“Christmas in Your Eyes” is almost sickly sweet at times, but in others, it really does capture the Christmas music genre really well. Musically and thematically.
“Go Away” is kind of a hidden gem on the album, just because it’s close to the end of the set. It’s very much in the Miami Sound Machine style. It’s defiant, but incredible fun.

One interesting thing I noticed in my recent returns to this disc after having not heard it in YEARS. In fact, the last time before a year or so again… I hadn’t even gone off to college yet. So it’s been a very long time.
But musically, a lot of it is, not just that they’re ballads… but I got a very New Age vibe from them. Maybe it’s because we’d listened to a lot of Enya and Kenny G. in the early days too. Hearing some of this again just felt like home. And also reminded me a bit of summer when we went on vacation. We went to Newport Beach and Hawaii a few times and whether it was on the planes, at the airport or the hotel lobbies, I heard very similar music that just cast the perfect mood.

Of the 9 80’s songs… I’m not going to go through all of them. Not because they’re all great. But some I just have more attachment to than others.

Conga- 1985- is probably her most famous song. And I’m sure it’d been used a few times for dance competition shows for Cha-Cha’s. It ain’t an easy rhythm to dance to that, that’s for sure. And after spending so much time with Prince and his music, it’s hard not to imagine Sheila E. beating the hell out of her drums and nailing this song. And on the 4th beat, it almost sounds like a Linn-drum sample to complete the phrase, but it doesn’t have the same reverb as when Prince uses it.
Anyway, good way to kick off the album and any dance party, really.

One thing I’ve noticed with a lot of her songs off this set- there’s a lot of ballads. And there’s quite a few sad songs about breaking up. Which is kinda strange because she and Emilio Estefan are still together and there’s a quote of her saying he was her only boyfriend. Even stranger, the poetry is very simple. The structure has a lot of couplets- two lines rhyming with one another. And some of the lyrics sound kinda cheesy. Yet somehow, when she does it, they don’t sound cliché or phony. They always feel heartfelt and genuine. Maybe it’s because we spent so much time listening to them as a family. If I had gotten to them under different circumstances, my mindset might be completely different.

The Words Get in The Way- 1986- I recently heard this play on Sirius as one of the top songs that week in 1986… I’ll say it again, my year has some pretty sweet music. This one is bittersweet, though. But it does a great job addressing a familiar circumstance: wanting to say something to a lover whether “it’s over” or “I love you” but being so tongue-tied about it. Heck, I’m tongue-tied in a lot of situations anyway. Wanting to say so much, but not wanting to say too much because it’ll create the wrong impression. Either being too weak or too strong.
Oh wow- according to Wikipedia, the song appeared on “All my Children” that year as well. God, I miss that show, but I also kinda don’t 😛

Can’t Stay Away from You- 1987- right away, what stands out to me about this one is the clean guitar that occasionally chimes in. A lot of the time, it interplays with the lyrics, especially notable on the bridge. It’s a really cool effect. Again, another sad one. I really listened to the lyrics today and started to get a little choked up. Finding yourself at the crossroads with a lover or even someone you have a crush on, and the feelings aren’t returned, but you don’t want to let them go. I’ve been in that place so many times… it sucks!
Amazing how simple the lyrics are in the chorus, but they carry so much weight.

1-2-3 (remix)- 1988- now things are fun again 😛 When we had this album on heavy rotation, I think this song was my favorite. I remember a 6th grade English assignment where we had to write down lyrics or quotes for a project. and I used some from this one: “No matter what it takes, I will steal your heart away. Take a chance for once, you won’t regret it. Want my love, just come and get it.” I also vaguely remember doing a lot of movie quotes, but I never used any famous quotes from real life… maybe I really didn’t get the point of the assignment.
Anyway, simple premise, but it’s written into an extremely catchy poppy song. Not surprisingly, it was re-recorded for her guest appearance on Sesame Street… I mean, c’mon! It makes complete sense. When this song was written, they had to have known that was a possibility, haha

Rhythm is Gonna Get You- 1987- this was the first of these songs I heard on Sirius and my jaw dropped that it was an 80’s song. None of these songs really give off that vibe to me. Maybe because I was hearing them in the late 90’s. But this has quickly become my new favorite 😛
The tribal vibes from this one have always stuck in my head. And maybe it was a recent trip to Hawaii (we first went in 1998 and I think, later on in 2002 and 2004- the last one was looking at a college there that I decided not to go to), but it made me think of demonstrations and shows they had at the Polynesian Culture Center. We were there all day and when you’re 11-12, that feels like a long time. I think I’d get more out of it as an adult than I did then. But they had all kinds of shows. Also in various media, Hawaii makes you think of everyone wearing garments made out of grass and the guys chanting and spinning large sticks set on fire. All of that comes to my mind when I hear this song. It’s so visual and immersive.
If it was a different sort of movie, this would have fit on the Moana soundtrack. I know that Miami Sound Machine has origins in Cuba, the complete other side of the Northern Hemisphere. But I can’t help where my mind goes.
So many cool little things: there are two catchy refrains in this performed by men and they don’t even have words. At least not words in English. So catchy! The chorus- after the third time, there’s this groan and a bright synth stab. Almost like a spell was cast in a cauldron and a pillar of fire erupted from it. Then all of the refrains come together with Gloria singing the main chorus… perfect fit!
It seriously feels like one of the coolest songs EVER.

Here We Are- 1989- a happier slow song for a change! A couple finds themselves alone and so many thoughts come to mind when they figure how to best spend it. This was one of those songs that gave me that New Age/hotel lobby vibe from the music.

Get On Your Feet- 1989- oddly one of those upbeat songs where it’s not all sunshine and rainbows. This is about finding positivity when you’re feeling beat down in your life. But it’s hard not to feel invigorated when you hear that chorus. It’s no wonder it became the namesake of the musical. My favorite part- in the second quatrain of the chorus, there’s a little phrase of Latin flavor splashed in there. That alone reminds you the artist you’re listening to- such a signature phrase.

And that’s it. One artist down- 3 more to go.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.